### **MINUTES**

DSST Public Schools Board Meeting
June 15, 2023

DSST Home Office, Mt. Massive and Mt. Elbert Conference Rooms

Meeting Called to Order: 2:09p.m.

### **Board Members Present:**

Brenda J. Allen
Billy Brown
David Greenberg\*
Glenn Russo
Gloria Zamora
Jean Kutner
Mary Haynes
Peter Fritzinger
\*Joined via phone

**Parent Present:** None

**Board Members Absent:** Alyssa Whitehead-Bust, Andrew Sinclair, Mark Ferrandino, Patrick O'Rourke, Scott Arthur, Teresa Berryman

**DSST Staff Present:** Aaron Griffen, Andy Mendrop, Antwan Wilson, Bill Kurtz, Carrie Ramsey, Danielle Felder, Elin Curry, Heather Haines-Koehler, Katie Glenn, Nick Plantan, Nicole Fulbright

**DPS Staff Present**: None

**Others Present:** Marty Erzinger (DSST Foundation Board Member), Steve Halstedt (DSST Foundation Board Member)

**Public Comment:** Amari Archambault (DSST: Cedar Student) regarding DSST: Cedar name change (formerly known as DSST: Byers).

## Welcome:

Ms. Zamora welcomed everyone to the meeting and the board participated in an icebreaker. Following the approval of the minutes, the board members administered and took an oath. This is a new requirement by state law for Charter Board Members.

## **Approval Items:**

## Motion to approve previous board meeting minutes, Russo

**Second**: Fritzinger

Vote: Unanimous approval

Motion to approve the recommendation of the School Representative Body and School Leadership Team to change name of DSST: Byers to DSST: Cedar, Kutner

Second: Allen

**Vote**: Unanimous approval

## Motion to nominate David Greenberg to another 3-year term for the DSST Public Schools Board, Brown

**Second**: Fritzinger

**Vote**: Unanimous approval David Greenberg abstained

# Motion to nominate Patrick O'Rourke to another 3-year term for the DSST Public Schools Board, Brown

Second: Fritzinger

**Vote**: Unanimous approval

<u>Discussion:</u> Ms. Felder and Mr. Kurtz presented a PPT on DSST: Byers Name Change. Following their presentation, the board voted on the name change recommendation (see motion above). Following the motion, Ms. Fulbright presented a PPT on DSST's Strategic Plan 2028 Measures of Success and Scorecard. After Ms. Fulbright's presentation, the board engaged in Q&A. Lastly, Mr. Plantan presented a PPT on DSST's Foundation and engaged in a Q&A following his presentation.

#### Reports:

**CEO:** Mr. Kurtz shared updates on school discipline and safety, enrollment, and the current educational landscape.

**Executive:** Ms. Zamora shared a document with the board which provided information on what board members are on each committee and the Chair of each committee. Ms. Zamora continued by sharing a few committee changes which included Andrew Sinclair being the new Advancement Committee Chair, Scott Arthur joining the Finance and Operations Committee, and Brenda J. Allen joining the Succession Planning Committee.

**Nominating and Governance**: Mr. Brown proposed motions to nominate David Greenberg and Patrick O'Rourke to another 3-year term for the DSST Public Schools Board (see motions above). Mr. Brown also shared that he will continue his role as the

Nominating and Governance Chair until September and the committee is hoping to add 2-3 new board members next school year.

**New Business:** None

### **Executive Session**

Ms. Zamora stated, "I would entertain a motion to go into Executive Session as permitted by the Colorado Open Meetings Act for the purpose of considering the following matters:

- (2) Pursuant to Colorado Revised Statute 24-6-402
  - (4) (e) negotiations

### Motion to go into Executive Session, Russo

**Second**: Brown

**Vote**: Unanimous approval

## Motion to adjourn Executive Session, Fritzinger

Second: Russo

Vote: Unanimous approval

## Motion to adjourn board meeting, Fritzinger

Second: Haynes

Vote: Unanimous approval

Respectfully Submitted,

Katie Glenn (note-taker), Secretary